top of page

This CD includes the following:

JS Bach

1.    Cello Suite No.5 in C Minor - BVW 1011 - 6:29 

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750), one the most prolific and revered of all classical composers, wrote six suites for solo cello, which are among the most frequently performed and recorded compositions for unaccompanied cello. The 5th is one of the lesser known of these suites. This movement is rather particular, as the cello needs to be tuned differently than usual. The “A” string is tuned down a tone to a “G” in a practice referred to as a “scordatura”. This provides the cello with a wonderfully warm and mellow sound. This prelude is similarly structured to the Sinfonia Overture from G-F. Haendel’s celebrated Messiah: a slow movement, followed by a fast fugue, but in a pure style inherent to Bach.

Grützmacher - Elite Etüden - World Premier Recording

2.    No.2 - Fuga - Baumgartner - 3:46 

3.    No.3 - Allegro Moderato - Boccherini - 6:03

4.    No.4 - Allegro Non Tropo - Duport - 5:05

5.    No.5 - Aria (Andante & Allegro) - Breval - 6:15

Friedrich Wilhelm Grützmacher (1832-1903) - a noteworthy 19th century German cellist, composer and professor composed a number of works for cello, including study pieces for advanced cello students. There are 12 “Elite-Etüden”. These short works were composed to be played as concert encores. Each one is written in the style of various well-known cello masters and composers of that time. Grützmacher used the entire range of the cello (extreme bass to extreme high). Since their inception, these pieces were met with disdain by both the public and cellists alike. Indeed, as they require both highly exceptional technical and musical skills from the cellist, this can explain why no-one has ever recorded them … until now. At least these particular four studies now have the acknowledgement they deserve!

M. Reger - 3rd Suite, Opus 131c,

6.   No.3 Präludium (Sostenuto) - 6:15

7.   Scherzo (Vivace) - 5:21- CD release only

8.   Andante Con Variation - 8:41- CD release only

Max Reger (1873-1916) composed a collection of 146 opus numbers in addition to an array of uncatalogued music, exploring every major genre, except opera. His three Suites for solo cello opus 131 are considered as the first most important solo cello works since Bach. The 3rd Suite (like the other two) begins with a “Prelude”, using the double-string technique. Playing two strings at once provides a wonderful polyphonic sound to the cello. The harmony is very rich and the resulting feel is rich, deep and warm. The more humoristic “Scherzo” is both brilliant and cheerful, spanning the entire range of the cello, including a slow waltz-like section in the middle. The “Andante con variazioni" is considered as the masterpiece of these three Suites. The main theme is a wonderfully lyrical slavonic melody. Again, Reger uses all the possibilities of the cello - pizzicato, harmonics, double-string, virtuosity, etc.

G. Cassadó - Suite for Solo Cello

9.     Preludio-Fantasia - 6:30

10.   Sardana (Danza) - 5:15 CD release only

11. Intermezzo e Danza Finale- 6:49

Gaspar Cassadó (1897-1966) was an early 20th century composer and cellist from Spain. His masters